Namaste welcome to Nepal

With a surface of 147 181 km ² Nepal is about twice as big as the German federal state of Bavaria. The country in South Asia lies as narrow striation in the south Himalayas between China in the north and India in the south. About two thirds of the state surface lies above 1 000 m (approximately 28% above 3 000 m).

From south to the north Nepal shares four geographic big regions: the Terai is a part of the fertile Ganges lowlands which belongs in a large part to India. Northerly of it the country rises to the Siwalik chain (also: Churia chain),  up to the 100 km wide foothills which forms the most southern part of the Himalaya and reaches heights up to 1.800 m. Between the mountain chains lie basin landscapes as for example the Katmandu valley which is approximately 100 km long and is on a height of about 1.350 m. In the northern direction joins the front Himalaya, here the highlands rises up to 4.000 m. 

Hereupon follows Nepals part of the high Himalaya, here are located eight of the world-wide fourteen 8-thousand peaks, amongst others the highest mountain of the world with 8.848 m, the Mount Everest (Tibetan: Chomolungma) on the border between Nepal and Tibet.


The other mountains higher than 8.000 m are:

Kangchendzönga (8.586m),

Lhotse (8.516 m)

Makalu (8.481 m)

Dhaulagiri (8.167 m)

Manaslu (8.156 m)

Cho Oyu (8.153 m)

and Annapurna (8.091 m)


All rivers arising in the Himalaya flow into Ganges, the longest river is the Kosi (altogether 720 km, in Nepalese area of 350 km). The capital of the country, Katmandu (1,5 million inhabitants in the greater area), lies in the high valley of the same name.